7 Ways To Become A Better You

1. Stop Watching So Much Netlfix and TV

I get it, The Office is hilarious. At one point in my life I’m pretty sure I watched Gossip Girl for three days straight. And Pretty Little Liars almost made my best friend pee her pants one time. I get it. Movies, TV, YouTube, it’s great stuff. But what is it doing for you? Is it making you better? Is it teaching you anything? The time spent watching your favorite re-runs of Friends could be spent doing something so much more productive for your life.

2. Focus on Listening More and Talking Less

We all have that friend that could talk for hours and hours and all you have to do to keep them going is a simple “mhm” and “yeah, totally” every 10 minutes or so. But isn’t it so refreshing when someone looks into your eyes and you can tell they genuinely care about what you’re saying? Be that person for other people.

3. Schedule Out Your Days

I’m definitely a yes girl. You know the type.

10:10am Friend 1: “Hey do you want to go to lunch on Wednesday?” Me: “Yeah! Of course.”

2:35pm Friend 2: “Jessica! Let’s hang out on Wednesday!!!” Me: “Omg yes!”

5:32pm Friend 3: “Let’s get coffee and do homework on Wednesday.” Me: “Yes totally! I have so much.”

Then Wednesday comes around and I have three people texting me asking when we’re going to meet up and I have to cancel on two of them. Not to mention that my boss asked me to come in early and I have no choice but to do laundry that day. Don’t allow the day to run you! Schedule out your plans so that you don’t have to let anyone down and you can always be counted on. People want to be around friends that are stable and consistent and dependable.

4. Remember People’s Names

“I’m sorry, what’s your name again? I’m really bad with names.” NO. No. No. No no no no no no no. Do you know why you’re bad at remembering people’s names? Because you don’t actually try! You’ve never made a real effort to put someone’s name into your memory bank unless they become an extremely common or consistent part of your life. That’s just being lazy. And not to mention inconsiderate. When you shake someone’s hand for the first time, and they tell you their name, make a real, conscious effort to remember it. Say it back to them, several times. “Oh you’re name is Johnny? Hi Johnny, it’s nice to meet you.” Yes, this sounds weird and unconventional, but normal sucks! If normal is forgetting about people the second they leave your peripheral vision, I don’t want to be normal. And trust me, if it takes repeating someone’s name back to them several times to remember it, they’re not going to think you’re a freak. The next time you see them you get to say, “Hi Johnny! How are you doing?!” And let me tell you, Johnny is going to be happy. C’mon guys. Make Johnny happy. He deserves it.

5. Make Eye Contact

Stop looking down at your feet when you walk through the mall. Look up. Look into people’s eyes and smile. Stop avoiding eye contact with other human beings, we were made to have relationships with each other. Look into people’s eyes when you are having a conversation with them. 55% of communication is done through non-verbal communication. That’s body language, gestures, EYE CONTACT. It’s a big deal.

6. Spend time reading books that provoke thought, educate you, and encourage positive behavior. Fun books are fun. Yes, I like most others, read The Twilight Series and sobbed hysterically during New Moon (which I read in 5 hours straight through the night). It was fun. But I don’t want my life to be only about fun. I want to learn and grow and be SMART and knowledgeable and intelligent. There are a plethora of books that can teach you things you never even knew you didn’t know. Right now I’m reading The Defining Decade by Meg Jay, PhD and I’m finding out all of these incredible tips for my twenties that I would have otherwise never known. Choose to not only read books that are entertaining but books that will change you.

7. Hang Out With Friends That Challenge You

Friends that make you laugh are great. Friends that will go shopping with you are even greater. But you become like the people that you surround yourself with. Are you hanging out with people that you want to be like? And do they challenge you to be better? Do they encourage you to accomplish your goals? Do they inspire you to be honest, kind, full of life and love? Or are they a distraction. Do they stand in the way of things you not only want, but things you need? Things that will make you BETTER. Good friends don’t encourage a monotonous and routine life, but rather motivate a style of courage and spirit.

“You are essentially who you create yourself to be and all that occurs in your life is the result of your own making.”
― Stephen Richards

One thought on “7 Ways To Become A Better You

Leave a comment